nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art

© David Helbich

© Benedict Johnson

residency
Plus Minus & Tape That
18/12/2011 - 20/12/2011

Plus Minus and Tape That will be taking the first steps towards the realization of a joint project entitled Tape to Real. Our research will centre around the idea of making a performance which is essence a realtime cover version of a carefully selected recording. Using a multi-track recorder, microphones, objects and instruments, we will investigate the musical and performative potential of a process involving the gradual erasing and remaking of the pre-recorded material.



TAPE THAT are Koen Nutters and Christophe Meierhans. Their work is based on sound in a broad sense and is not devoted to one specific format but rather to developing different ones that lie between installation, concert, CD production and intervention according to the conditions and concerns of each project. Sound is the main focus, but as a departure point, as a perspective from which to look at things. TAPE THAT works with sound and the rest, or rather, with sound in the rest; seeking connections and interferences between sound manipulation and its contigencies, between sound and everything that is not the sound itself but which it inevitably comes into contact with, is constrained or extended by.



Plus Minus is an Anglo/Belgium octet committed to presenting new work alongside landmark modern repertoire. Formed in 2003 by Joanna Bailie and Matthew Shlomowitz, + – is distinguished by its interest in avant-garde, conceptual, and experimental open instrumentation pieces such as Stockhausen’s 1963 classic, from which the group takes its name.

SOUNDS
Katharina Klement 30/8/19
Mariana Carvalho 30/8/19
Dejana Sekulic & Gilles Doneux 3/10/19


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore

© David Helbich

© Benedict Johnson

résidence
Plus Minus & Tape That
18/12/2011 - 20/12/2011

Plus Minus et Tape That vont prendre les premières dispositions visant à la réalisation d’un projet commun intitulé Tape to Real. Notre recherche se concentrera autour de l’idée de produire une interprétation qui soit par essence une reprise en temps réel d’un enregistrement soigneusement sélectionné. En utilisant un enregistreur multipiste, des microphones, des objets et des instruments, nous examinerons le potentiel musical et interprétatif d’un processus qui implique l’effacement graduel et la refonte du matériel préenregistré.



TAPE THAT, ce sont Koen Nutters et Christophe Meierhans. Leur travail est basé sur le son au sens large et n’est pas consacré à un format spécifique, mais plutôt au développement de différents formats qui se situent entre installation, concert, production de CD et intervention selon les conditions et les traitements de chaque projet. Le son est l’objectif principal, mais comme un point de départ, comme un point de vue à partir duquel il faut examiner les choses. TAPE THAT travaille avec le son et le silence, ou, plutôt, avec le son dans le silence ; en recherchant les connexions et les interférences entre la manipulation du son et ses contingences, entre le son et tout ce qui n’est pas le son lui-même, mais avec quoi il entre inévitablement en contact, par quoi il est limité ou est étendu.



Plus Minus est un octuor anglo-belge qui s’est engagé à présenter de nouvelles œuvres à côté du répertoire moderne historique. Formé en 2003 par Joanna Bailie et Matthew Shlomowitz, + – se distingue par son intérêt pour des morceaux avec une instrumentation libre d’avant-garde, conceptuelle et expérimentale, comme Stockhausen’s 1963 classic, d’où le groupe tire son nom.

SONS
Laurent Guedel 10/7/20
Tucuxi (Mika Oki & Irwin Barbé) 12/3/20
Future Perfect (Julia Dyck & Amanda Harvey) 4/3/20


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be