nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
residency
Maria Balabas & Mihai Balabas
08/05/2014 - 25/05/2014

Which are the elements that create for a tourist the sonorous specificity of the city of Brussels? Can one perceive an urban rhythm and the fluid relations between the city and its inhabitants? Are the balances between the intensities of sounds – as they reverb in the city – signs of our unconscious life as modern urban personalities? How are the European political ideas reflected in the sounds of the city? Which is a possible psychological significance hidden behind an aural map of the city?


These are just a few questions that took me, Maria, on the way to imagine a series of soundscapes dedicated to Brussels, trying to capture the aural specificity of the city. The next thing was to imagine those compositions as dedicated to the traditional meaningful moments of the day – morning, mid-day, evening, night – each being a metaphor for the richness or poorness of our imagination and trying to depict the influence the big urban spaces have upon the human condition.



As far as I remember (I’ve visited Brussels a couple of times), with its paradoxical social worlds living altogether, Brussels is a good place for such a study and inspires one to search more about its inner life. I also remember a sound which for me, at that moment, transformed itself in a metaphor of the city: during the night, when the traffic was low, in the district near the European Union buildings, one could hear very clear a contrapuntal sound-presence. The alarms on the streetlights that announce the blind persons when to cross, built a mechanical rhythmicity and became part of the aural-image of the city by night. A sound construction derived from social politics, determining a specific perception of time, Brussels, sound-utility and poetic meaning. A hearable voice of the unconscious, either of a person or of the urban space itself and another one – of a sensible and impulsive critic of the reality.



The four soundscapes will go from intimate feelings to large sonorities, will feature voices and fragmented stories merged into industrial and mechanical atmospheres etc. We – Maria and Mihai Balabas – will use field recordings done in Brussels during the time of the residency; the artistic process will take use to processing the recordings, giving them musical narativity. The sound-structure will be completed with voices (text and melodic lines) and musical-instrumental layers.

SOUNDS
Railroad Concrète 27/5/18
Sabrina Montiel-Soto - YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO VIEW THIS IMAGE
Doron Sadja @ Sweet Spot 5/5/18


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
résidence
Maria Balabas & Mihai Balabas
08/05/2014 - 25/05/2014

Quels sont les éléments qui produisent, pour le touriste, la spécificité sonore de la ville de Bruxelles? Peut-on percevoir un rythme urbain et les relations fluides entre la ville et ses habitants? Les harmonies entre les différentes intensités des sons – tandis qu’ils résonnent dans la ville – sont-elles les reflets de notre vie inconsciente en tant que personnalités urbaines modernes ? De quelle manière les idées politiques européennes se reflètent-elles dans les sons de la ville? Quelle signification psychologique possible se cache derrière une carte auditive de la ville?



Ce ne sont là que quelques questions qui m’ont amenée, moi, Maria, à imaginer une série de paysages sonores dédiée à Bruxelles, en essayant de capturer la spécificité auditive de la ville. Ensuite, il m’a fallu imaginer ces compositions comme étant consacrées aux moments significatifs traditionnels de la journée – le matin, le midi, le soir, la nuit – chacun étant une métaphore de la richesse ou de la pauvreté de notre imagination, en essayant de dépeindre l’influence des grands espaces urbains sur la condition humaine.



Du plus loin que je me souvienne (j’ai visité Bruxelles deux ou trois fois), Bruxelles, avec ses groupes sociaux paradoxaux qui cohabitent, est un bon endroit pour une telle étude et incite à ce que l’on se penche plus profondément sur sa vie intérieure. Je me souviens également d’un son qui, pour moi, à ce moment-là, est devenu une métaphore de la ville : durant la nuit, lorsque le trafic est faible, dans un quartier situé près des bâtiments de la Communauté européenne, on peut entendre très clairement une présence sonore contrapuntique. Les alarmes des feux de circulation, qui avertissent les personnes non-voyantes du moment de traverser, construisent une rythmique mécanique et deviennent une part de l’image auditive de la ville la nuit. Une construction sonore dérivée de la politique sociale, déterminant une perception spécifique du temps, Bruxelles, utilité sonore et signification poétique. Une voix audible de l’inconscient, d’une personne ou de l’espace urbain lui-même et une autre – celle d’une critique raisonnable et impulsive de la réalité.



Les quatre paysages sonores iront des émotions intimes aux larges sonorités, ils comprendront des voix et des histoires fragmentées intégrées à des atmosphères industrielles, mécaniques, etc. Nous, Maria et Mihai Balabas, utiliserons des enregistrements de terrain réalisés à Bruxelles durant la période de la résidence ; le processus artistique utilisera le traitement des enregistrements, leur apportant une narrativité musicale. La structure sonore sera complétée par des voix (textes et lignes mélodiques) et des couches musicales-instrumentales.

SONS
Tucuxi (Mika Oki & Irwin Barbé) 12/3/20
Future Perfect (Julia Dyck & Amanda Harvey) 4/3/20
Diana Duta 4/3/20


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be