nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
Oscillation 2021 ::: Tuned Circuits
Anna Steiden, Aura Satz, Jessica Ekomane, People Like Us, Pierre Deruisseau, Aela Royer, Yannick Guédon, Catherine Lamb, Bryan Eubanks, Rebecca Lane, Charlie Usher, Maika Garnica, Goodiepal & Pals, Farida Amadou, Jonáš Gruska, Sajjra Xhrs Galarreta, Sarah van Lamsweerde, Esther Mugambi, Raoul Carrer, Jeroen Uyttendaele, Cathy van Eck, Lazara Rosell Albear, Lendl Barcelos, Lucrecia Dalt, Billy Roisz, Olivia Jack, Celeste Betancur, Edyta Jarząb, Veronika Svobodová, Michal Kindernay, Verena Kuni, Yann Leguay, Maria Komarova, Olli Aarni, Lukas De Clerck, Stellan Veloce, Karen Willems, Aine O’Dwyer, Liew Niyomkarn, Myriam Van Imschoot, Andreas Halling

==> festival website

 

Tuned Circuits, the 2021 edi­tion of Oscillation Festival, bor­rows its title from Daphne Oram, the ear­ly elec­tron­ic com­pos­er and instru­ment inven­tor. In Oram’s work and writ­ing we glimpse the pos­si­bil­i­ty of a par­al­lel between elec­tron­ic and bio­log­i­cal cir­cuits, and a desire to per­ceive phe­nom­e­na simul­ta­ne­ous­ly from var­i­ous sides. More broad­ly, the fes­ti­val looks at prac­tices and phe­nom­e­na of tun­ing. Tuning is a fun­da­ment of music mak­ing. To think in terms of tun­ing is to think in terms of rela­tions; of one thing com­ing into con­so­nance or dis­so­nance with anoth­er, of one thing colour­ing and affect­ing anoth­er. It is also to think in terms of time, since tun­ing requires a process of con­stant cal­i­bra­tion: what is now in tune will not stay that way.

 

Oscillation — Tuned Circuits takes place over 4 days as a live broad­cast from MILL, Brussels and addi­tion­al loca­tions. The fes­ti­val will mix talks, per­for­mances and works for radio. Each day focuss­es on a sub-the­mat­ic: attun­ing, as a move­ment of con­ver­gence; feed­back, as a cir­cu­lar move­ment which ampli­fies itself; detun­ing, as a move­ment of unlearn­ing and a con­di­tion for regen­er­a­tion. The open­ing evening we ded­i­cate to Daphne Oram, whose research the­mat­ic we take as our own: “to fol­low curiosi­ties with­out flinching”.

Oscillation Festival is a project by Q‑O2 werk­plaats. This edi­tion is host­ed by MILL thanks to Needcompany, with the sup­port of Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, City of Brussels, Österreichisches Kulturforum, Nederlandse Ambassade, Ictus.

The Live Audio Stream will be acces­si­ble via this web­site, and dif­fused on sev­er­al inde­pen­dent radio sta­tions: Radio p‑node, The Listening Arts Channel, Radio Lyl, Radio Campus Bruxelles, Radio Helsinki, Colaboradio and Radio Shirley&Spinoza.

SOUNDS
Sébastien Roux, Deborah Walker, Yannick Guédon, Cyprien Busolini - Les Disparitions - 5/6/21
Selu Herraiz - Care (excerpt) - 28/7/2021
Nichola Scrutton - Improvisations/Sounding the Space 1


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
Oscillation 2021 ::: Tuned Circuits
Anna Steiden, Aura Satz, Jessica Ekomane, People Like Us, Pierre Deruisseau, Aela Royer, Yannick Guédon, Catherine Lamb, Bryan Eubanks, Rebecca Lane, Charlie Usher, Maika Garnica, Goodiepal & Pals, Farida Amadou, Jonáš Gruska, Sajjra Xhrs Galarreta, Sarah van Lamsweerde, Esther Mugambi, Raoul Carrer, Jeroen Uyttendaele, Cathy van Eck, Lazara Rosell Albear, Lendl Barcelos, Lucrecia Dalt, Billy Roisz, Olivia Jack, Celeste Betancur, Edyta Jarząb, Veronika Svobodová, Michal Kindernay, Verena Kuni, Yann Leguay, Maria Komarova, Olli Aarni, Lukas De Clerck, Stellan Veloce, Karen Willems, Aine O’Dwyer, Liew Niyomkarn, Myriam Van Imschoot, Andreas Halling

==> festival website

Tuned Circuits, l’é­di­tion 2021 du Oscillation Festival, emprunte son titre à Daphne Oram, com­po­si­trice élec­tro­nique pré­coce et inven­trice d’ins­tru­ments. Dans l’œuvre et l’é­cri­ture d’Oram, nous entre­voyons la pos­si­bi­li­té d’un paral­lèle entre les cir­cuits élec­tro­niques et bio­lo­giques, ain­si qu’un désir de per­ce­voir les phé­no­mènes simul­ta­né­ment depuis dif­fé­rents angles. Plus lar­ge­ment, le fes­ti­val s’in­té­resse aux pra­tiques et aux phé­no­mènes d’ac­cor­dage. L’accordage est un élé­ment fon­da­men­tal de la créa­tion musi­cale. Penser en termes d’ac­cor­dage, c’est pen­ser en termes de rela­tions; une chose entre en conso­nance ou en dis­so­nance avec une autre, une chose colore et affecte une autre. C’est aus­si pen­ser en termes de temps, car l’ac­cor­dage exige un pro­ces­sus d’é­ta­lon­nage constant; ce qui est accor­dé main­te­nant, ne le res­te­ra pas.

 

Oscillation — Tuned Circuits se déroule sur 4 jours sous la forme d’une dif­fu­sion en direct du MILL, à Bruxelles, et d’autres lieux. Le fes­ti­val mêle­ra confé­rences, per­for­mances et créa­tions pour la radio. Chaque jour se concentre sur une sous-thé­ma­tique: l’ac­cor­dage, en tant que mou­ve­ment de conver­gence; le feed­back, en tant que mou­ve­ment cir­cu­laire qui s’am­pli­fie lui-même; le désac­cor­dage, en tant que mou­ve­ment de désap­pren­tis­sage et condi­tion de régé­né­ra­tion. Nous dédions la soi­rée d’ou­ver­ture à Daphne Oram, dont nous repre­nons la thé­ma­tique de recherche: ​“suivre les curio­si­tés sans broncher”.

 

Cette édi­tion est accueillie par MILL grace à Needcompany, avec le sou­tien de Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie, Ville de Bruxelles, Österreichisches Kulturforum, Nederlandse Ambassade, Ictus.

 

Le Live Audio Stream sera acces­sible via ce site Web, et dif­fu­sé sur plu­sieurs radios indé­pen­dantes: Radio p‑node, The Listening Arts Channel, Radio Lyl, Radio Campus Bruxelles, Radio Helsinki, Colaboradio. and Radio Shirley&Spinoza.

SONS
Sébastien Roux, Deborah Walker, Yannick Guédon, Cyprien Busolini - Les Disparitions - 5/6/21
Selu Herraiz - Care (excerpt) - 28/7/2021
Nichola Scrutton - Improvisations/Sounding the Space 1


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be