nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art

© copyleft

seminar, workshop
Soundlab: Sonic Gardening (Davide Tidoni, Paul Devens)
25/02/2013 - 01/03/2013

Soundlab4, curated by Alessandra Coppola for a.pass, aims to be an experimental journey exploring different paths across the soundscapes of Brussels, coupled for this occasion to Tuned City Brussels (see below for full schedule).



The laboratory will work on two main axes: gardening (sound) and atmospheres. We take our inspiration from Gilles Clément’s work on “Le Jardin en Mouvement”. In this particular gardening practice, the gardener does not follow pre-determined plans but he/she tries to work with nature rather than against it. The choices the gardener makes to shape the garden result from the knowledge of how different soils accommodate different forms of life, in which ways these species develop, grow, expand above and under the ground as well as how they interact with each other and the environment. Sounds, unlike plants, do not possess such developed taxonomy; nevertheless we expect to identify various forms of sounds’ “biotopes” [bios=life,topos=place]: where, when, and how do sounds do appear in the city.



As we won’t be relying on scientific measurements, but rather on perception and senses, we will try to define various given soundscapes in terms of the atmosphere they create, rather than formal units of measurement. We use the world atmosphere in many different contexts but when we have to define it, it becomes vaporous, cloudy, difficult to grasp. Atmospheres have no precise  boundaries, nevertheless – as the german philosopher Gernot Böhme – “atmosphere is something you could enter” and furthermore it is “a space which has been emotionally tuned”. (1995 Atmosphäre: Essays zur neuen Ästhetik. Frankfurt am Main states).



Our practices aim to observe, analyze and understand the relationships between soundscape and atmosphere in an urban contexts, and eventually propose actions to alter a given situations with a sound-designing ethos. It will also be a study of urban soundscape from multiple viewpoints: phenomenological, poetic, physic, architectural, social, musical…. We will try not to impose any aesthetics or practice of creation, but be open to as many perspectives as possible with the reception of soundscapes.



PROGRAM:


25 February, at A.pass

10:00 – 12:00 video lecture of Gilles Clement “Le jardin en mouvement”

13:00 – 18:30: workshop, led by Davide Tidoni



26 February, at A.pass & around

10:00 – 18:30: workshop, led by Davide Tidoni



27 February, at A.pass & around

10:00 – 18:30: workshop, led by Davide Tidoni

18:30: public presentation #1



28 February, at Q-O2

10:00 – 13:00: lecture by Paul Devens: ‘sound installation in public space’

14:00 – 18:30: soundlab (listening as performance)



1 March, at A.pass

10:00 – 13:00: soundlab (listening as performance)

15:00 – 17:00: public presentation 2




Contribution for participation in this workshop is 20 euro.

To inscribe contact: Alessandra Coppola

Address a.pass: Delaunoystraat 58-60, B17, 1080 Brussels

SOUNDS
Maria Komarova 17/10/20
Clarice Calvo-Pinsolle 17/10/20
Laurent Guedel 10/7/20


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore

© copyleft

seminar, workshop
Soundlab: Sonic Gardening (Davide Tidoni, Paul Devens)
25/02/2013 - 01/03/2013

Soundlab4, curaté par Alessandra Coppola pour a.pass, se veut un voyage expérimental sur les divers chemins qui sillonnent le paysage sonore bruxellois, lié pour cette occasion à Tuned City Brussels (ci-dessous le programme complet).



Le travail du laboratoire repose sur deux axes principaux: le jardinage (des sons) et les atmosphères. Nous puisons notre inspiration de l’œuvre de Gilles Clément « Le Jardin en Mouvement ». Dans cette pratique de jardinage particulière, le jardinier ne suit pas de plans prédéterminés mais tente de travailler avec la nature plutôt qu’en opposition avec elle. Pour sculpter son jardin, le jardinier s’appuie sur la connaissance des sols, des différentes formes de vie qu’ils hébergent, de la façon dont ces espèces se développent, poussent et se répandent tant sur la surface du sol que sous terre, et tient compte de la façon dont elles interagissent entre elles et avec l’environnement. Contrairement aux plantes, la taxinomie des sons demeure peu développée. Toutefois, nous pouvons identifier diverses formes de «  biotopes  » sonores [bios = vie, topos = lieu]: le  lieu, le moment et la façon dont les sons apparaissent en milieu urbain.



En faisant appel à la perception et aux sens plutôt qu’à des mesures scientifiques, nous tenterons de définir les divers paysages sonores en termes d’atmosphère plutôt que par des unités de mesure officielles. Nous employons le terme «  atmosphère  » dans de nombreux contextes différents, mais lorsqu’il est question d’en fournir une définition, sa signification devient floue, nébuleuse, difficile à saisir. Si les atmosphères ne présentent aucune limite précise, selon le philosophe allemand Gernot Böhme, ce sont «  des espaces chargés d’émotions dans lesquels on peut pénétrer  ». (1995 Atmosphäre  : Essays zur neuen Ästhetik. Frankfurt am Main states).



Notre pratique a pour but d’observer, d’analyser et de comprendre les relations entre paysage sonore et atmosphère dans le contexte urbain afin de proposer des actions permettant d’altérer des situations données en s’appuyant sur une philosophie axée sur la conception sonore. Elle consiste également à étudier le paysage sonore urbain selon plusieurs points de vue  :  phénoménologique, poétique, physique, architectural, social, musical et autres. Nous tenterons de n’imposer aucune esthétique ou pratique créatrice mais préfèrerons considérer toutes les perspectives possibles en matière de paysages sonores.



PROGRAMME:


25 février, A.pass

10:00 – 12:00 video lecture de Gilles Clement “Le jardin en mouvement”

13:00 – 18:30: workshop, par Davide Tidoni



26 février, A.pass & autour

10:00 – 18:30: workshop, par Davide Tidoni



27 février, at A.pass & autour

10:00 – 18:30: workshop, par Davide Tidoni

18:30: presentation publique #1



28 février, Q-O2

10:00 – 13:00: lecture par Paul Devens: « sound installation in public space »

14:00 – 18:30: soundlab (listening as performance)



1 mars, A.pass

10:00 – 13:00: soundlab (listening as performance)

15:00 – 17:00: presentation publique #2




Contribution pour participation au workshop est 20 euros.

Pour s’inscrire contactez: Alessandra Coppola

Addresse a.pass: Rue Delaunoy 58-60, B17, 1080 Bruxelles

SONS
gladys garcia, Eleanor Ivory Weber, Diana Duta, Simon Andréani, 31/10/21
Sébastien Roux, Deborah Walker, Yannick Guédon, Cyprien Busolini - Les Disparitions - 5/6/21
Selu Herraiz - Care (excerpt) - 28/7/2021


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be