nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
sit-down
Second Sundays #16 – book launch: Éliane Radigue – Intermediary Spaces / Julia Eckhardt
15/09/2019 - 17:00 / doors 16:30 - free

SECOND SUNDAYS #16
Julia Eckhardt: Éliane Radigue – Intermediary Spaces / Espaces intermédiaires
Sunday Sept 15, 2019
Doors: 16h30
Listening session and Book Launch: 17h00
(free entry)

For its 16th session, Second Sundays celebrates the launch of the new publication from umland “Intermediary Spaces / Espaces Intermédiaires,” an in-depth interview between Éliane Radigue and Julia Eckhardt.

Éliane Radigue is considered one of the most innovative and influential contemporary composers, from her early electronic music through to her acoustic work of the last fifteen years. Influenced by musique concrète and shaped by regular sojourns in the United States, where she discovered analogue synthesisers, her work unfolds an intensity which is at once subtle and monumental. Through her deeps reflections on sound and listening, not only her music but also her working methods have come to shape a widely resonating set of new parameters for working with sound as musical material.

Presented by Julia Eckhardt
– Occam IV (2012) for viola. Performed by Julia Eckhardt
– Transamorem-Transmortem (1974) for fixed media. Live spatialisation by Caroline Profanter.

*NB: Éliane will not be personally present for the session.

__________

Second Sundays is a monthly series initiated by Q-O2. Each session a new guest is invited to share an insight into their own listening, playing and speaking about a selection of sound and music that is important to their thinking or practice. The sessions try to put value on listening to recorded music in a social setting as a space for discussion. The series takes place on the second Sunday of every month. Each session is paired with a cocktail-of-the-month, as decided by the invited guest.

Cocktail of the Month: French 75

———————-

Editor: Julia Eckhardt
French redaction: Benoit Deuxant, Jean-François Caro
English translation and redaction: Eleanor Ivory Weber
Design: Ines Cox

SOUNDS
Nomi Epstein - for Collect Project 18/7/19
Michael J. Schumacher 9/6/2019
Pom Bouvier Frictions 30/7/2019


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
sit-down
Second Sundays #16 – book launch: Éliane Radigue – Espaces intermédiaires / Julia Eckhardt
15/09/2019 - 17:00 / doors 16:30 - free

SECOND SUNDAYS #16
Julia Eckhardt: Éliane Radigue – Intermediary Spaces / Espaces intermédiaires
Dimanche 15 septembre 2019
Portes: 16h30
Séance d’écoute et lancement du livre: 17h00
(entrée libre)

Pour sa 16ème session, Second Sundays célèbre le lancement de la nouvelle publication d’umland «Espaces / Espaces intermédiaires Intermédiaires», un entretien approfondi entre Éliane Radigue et Julia Eckhardt.

Éliane Radigue peut être considérée comme l’une des compositrices contemporaines les plus innovatrices et les plus inspirantes, depuis sa musique électronique jusqu’à son travail acoustique de ces quinze dernières années. Influencé par la musique concrète et formé par des séjours réguliers aux États-Unis où elle découvre les synthétiseurs analogiques, son travail déploie une intensité à la fois monumentale et fragile. Grâce à ses réflexions profondes sur le son et l’écoute, c’est non seulement sa musique, mais aussi ses méthodes de travail, qui ont forgé un ensemble de nouveaux paramètres pour travailler le son en tant que matériau musical.
Dans la longue interview qui forme le corps de cette publication, Éliane Radigue parle de son travail, de ses réflexions et recherches sous-jacentes, ainsi que de son contexte historique. La publication contient également une liste commentée d’œuvres et le texte programmatique de Radigue sur La mystérieuse puissance de l’infime.

Présenté par Julia Eckhardt
– Occam IV (2012) pour alto. Interprété par Julia Eckhardt
– Transamorem-Transmortem (1974) pour les supports fixes. La spatialisation en direct de Caroline Profanter.

* NB: Éliane ne sera pas personnellement présente à la session.

__________

Second Sundays est une série mensuelle initiée par Q-O2. Chaque session, un nouvel invité est invité à partager un aperçu de sa propre écoute, en jouant et en parlant d’une sélection de sons et de musiques qui sont importants pour sa pensée ou sa pratique. Les sessions tentent de mettre l’écoute de la musique enregistrée dans un contexte social en tant qu’espace de discussion. La série a lieu le deuxième dimanche de chaque mois. Chaque session est associée à un cocktail du mois, à la décision de l’invité.

Cocktail du mois: French 75

—————–

Editor: Julia Eckhardt
French redaction: Benoit Deuxant, Jean-François Caro
English translation and redaction: Eleanor Ivory Weber
Design: Ines Cox

 

SONS
Katharina Klement 30/8/19
Mariana Carvalho 30/8/19
Dejana Sekulic & Gilles Doneux 3/10/19


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be