nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
residency
Dianne Weller & Ruben Nachtergaele
02/03/2016 - 20/03/2016

Working Title: Choreographing the Listening

Residency information for new sound installation performance working with:

Dianne Weller, Ruben Nachtegaele, Alessandra Coppola, Fanny Zaman, Ludo Engels, Hans Meijer, Elke Van Campenhout & Elias Vervecken (foley expert) Emiliano Battista (philosopher) (scientists) TBD

“The audience’s ears hear sounds, and their eyes see you being that sound. Dance is the sound made visible.  .” Anonymous

Research has found that when we are in a deep listening situation we are less aware of the physical body and how it behaves. What does this ‘unaware’ body look like? How does it move? What are its reactions? And how does it look like in a combined situation with a group of people? These are some of the questions of our research into the listening process and how does it affect the body.

This performance installation Choreographing the listening, is interested in how sound embodies itself, how we can experience sound physically. What does this physical experience look like and how can we observe and shared it with an audience.

Using sound in the context of short constructed ‘Radio plays’, this direct observation will be set against neurological and philosophical findings on the subject concerning what affects listening have on the body and how it manifests itself.

In this residency we will begin a first research into creating the ‘Radio Plays’ component of this piece. We need to construct sound which Inspires physical reactions from an audience of listeners and work on how to heighten the listening process

SOUNDS
Katharina Klement 30/8/19
Mariana Carvalho 30/8/19
Dejana Sekulic & Gilles Doneux 3/10/19


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
résidence
Dianne Weller & Ruben Nachtergaele
02/03/2016 - 20/03/2016

«  Le public, par ses oreilles, entend les sons et, par ses yeux, vous voit être le son. La danse est une visualisation du son.  » Anonyme

Les études ont montré que lorsque nous nous trouvons dans une situation d’écoute profonde, nous devenons moins conscients de notre corps physique et de son comportement. À quoi ressemble donc ce corps «  inconscient  »  ? Comment est-il mû  ? Quelles sont ses réactions  ? Et à quoi ressemble-t-il en présence d’un groupe de personnes  ? Voici quelques-unes des questions que pose notre étude du processus auditif et la manière dont celui-ci affecte le corps.

Cette performance-installation, intitulée  Choreographing the listening,  s’intéresse à l’incarnation du son et la façon dont nous pouvons percevoir le son de manière physique. À quoi cette expérience physique ressemble-t-elle, et comment pouvons-nous l’observer et la partager avec un public  ?

Utilisant du son provenant de petites pièces radiophoniques, cette observation directe sera confrontée aux découvertes neurologiques et philosophiques touchant à l’impact de l’audition sur le corps et la manière dont il se manifeste.

Nous commencerons cette résidence par une première recherche sur la création de ces pièces radiophoniques. Nous devons construire un son inspirant les réactions physiques des auditeurs et tâcher d’élever le processus auditif.

SONS
Dejana Sekulic & Gilles Doneux 3/10/19
Simon Labbé 28/6/19
Nomi Epstein - for Collect Project 18/7/19


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be