nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
residency
26/10/2015 - 31/10/2015

Sensonarium 1.0

a living instrooment study (2015/2016)



What if you were a particle of a sound? If you could perceive sound as being inside of it?



The interactive sound installation, Sensonarium, is a live in instrument, a living instrument,
a living room – any space, being an instrument. A membrane that holds a sound. Being in it, feeling the sound, one becomes a particle within. The structure simulates different elements. Triggering the chords, in specific order individually assigned for different element (metal, wood, water, fire, earth…), generates vibrations and frequency. The goal effect is for the spectator, while sitting inside the installation, to feel these vibrations and frequencies as being part of their insides, become the atom, the interior of elements thus feel closer and become one with it, with nature, with self.



During the residency images of microscopic slides of different elements (water, wood, pollen, earth, metal…) are to be examined for their visual structure. Using the system of examining different sounds and frequencies with cymatics, examining their visual structure and then stacking and combining them, the resulted image of these combined sounds becomes equivalent image to as if we could see the sound under the microscope. These combinations of frequencies, sounds, come to represent the closest visual equivalent to microscope slides that will in return be assigned to each of the examined elements and become their signature sound, the voice of the element.



The paired element and its sound would be further used in creating a piece and small interactive installation. Upon triggering and manipulating the installation the spectator can sense the vibration of this element, and thus feel as if he became part of its voice. The installations developed during the residency period will be of small dimensions (1:213), and there will be no more then 4 made, with each presenting one element. However, the idea is to further use collected data and in the future use it as input for building a 1:1 scale interactive installation, which could welcome a spectator inside, for experiencing this vibration in whole, making his perception of sound switch from his hearing being the membrane within which the sound exists, to being a particle within sound.

SOUNDS
Browser-Duo: Jasmine Guffond & Fred Alstadt 17/01/19
Lukas De Clerck/ Whistling Group Performance 30/11/18
Daniela Fantechi & Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka 21/09/18


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
résidence
26/10/2015 - 31/10/2015

Sensonarium 1.0

étude d’un instrument vivant (2015/2016)

Et si vous étiez une particule de son  ? Que vous pouviez percevoir le son de l’intérieur?



Sensonarium, l’installation sonore interactive, est un instrument live, un instrument vivant, un lieu de vie, où tout espace devient un instrument. Une membrane sonore. Les ondes sonores perçues dans cet espace nous transforment en particule de son. La structure simule plusieurs éléments. Le déclenchement des cordes, dans l’ordre spécifiquement attribué à chaque élément (métal, bois, eau, feu, terre…), génère des vibrations et des fréquences. Le spectateur, assis au sein de l’installation, ressent de l’intérieur se former les vibrations et les fréquences. Les éléments donnent ainsi l’impression de se rapprocher et de fusionner avec le lieu, la nature et l’être.



Durant la résidence, des lames microscopiques de différents éléments (eau, bois, pollen, terre, métal…) seront examinées du point de vue de leur structure visuelle. Les images résultant de l’analyse des différents sons et fréquences et de la cymatique, des structures visuelles, empilées puis combinées, donnent l’impression d’examiner le son à travers un microscope. Ces combinaisons de fréquences et de sons deviennent l’équivalence visuelle de lames microscopiques qui seront en retour affectées à chaque élément examiné et deviendront leur signature sonore, telle la voix de l’élément.



L’élément et les sons associés seront ensuite utilisés pour créer une œuvre et une installation interactive. En déclenchant et en manipulant l’installation, le spectateur pourra ressentir la vibration de cet élément et aura le sentiment de ne faire qu’un avec sa voix. Les installations développées durant la résidence seront de petite taille (1:213) et seront au nombre maximal de 4, chacune étant dédiée à un élément. Toutefois, l’idée est de rassembler les données recueillies afin de construire une installation à une échelle de 1:1, accueillant un spectateur qui pourra alors expérimenter intégralement cette vibration et faire évoluer sa perception, à partir de l’ouïe prêtant vie au son, jusqu’à devenir une particule au sein du son.

SONS
Nichola Scrutton & noid 27/5/19
noid 27/5/19
Lucy Railton 27/4/19


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be