nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
12/08/2013 - 07/09/2013
07/09/2013 - 20:30 - free entrance
22/05/2014 - 20:30 5€
Yannick Franck

© K. Dorion

Musician, performer and founder of Idiosyncratics label, Yannick Franck has developed an increasingly personal style that combines sharp acoustic research and abrasive walls of sound. Often described as trance-inducing, his music is based on the treatment of sources such as instruments and non-musical objects, voice, radio signals and field recordings. It ranges from fundamental acoustic explorations (The Staircase Continuum) to more stylistic-expressionistic searches (Memorabilia); two fields of investigation that tend to collide in his latest works such as Hierophany(to be released on Monochrome Vision) and The Utmost Night (to be released on Taâlem recordings). In addition to his recordings and performances, Yannick Franck creates site-specific sound installations.

 

Franck is part of electroacoustic-noise improvisation project Y.E.R.M.O., with guitar player Xavier Dubois and drummer Jason Van Gulick. They have collaborated with artists Gast Bouschet and Nadine Hilbert on a number of projects. They created soundtracks for the artists' political installation Collision Zone, held at the Pavilion of Luxembourg, Venice Biennial 2009. Additional collaborations include their intense audiovisual performances, Things to ComeCollision Zone, and Toward The Event Horizon."

 

He recently started the minimal-industrial duo project called ORPHAN SWORDS as well as RÄUM, a solo audiovisual performance project aiming to create contemporary rituals through the use and misuse of analog and digital technologies, electronically processed vocals, throat singing, dancing, shouting, massive synth drones and corrosive beats.

 

In the past, Yannick Franck has collaborated with Pietro Riparbelli / K11, Craig Hilton (Gauchiste, Loincloth), Phil Maggi, Alan Trench (World Serpent, Temple Music, Orchis) and Esther Venrooy among others and his music has been released on several labels including Silken Tofu, Young Girls Records, Sylvain Chauveau's concept record house Onement and Italian label Silentes.

 

Franck and Riparbelli, with the precious help of Alan Trench (ex World Serpent, Temple Music) are currently working on a new conceptual album based on recordings made at Aleister Crowley's Abbey of Thelema in Cefalù, Sicily.

 

He has performed in venues and festivals such as Issue Project Room (New York, USA), MUDAM (Luxembourg, LU), Philharmonie du Luxembourg (Luxembourg, LU), Young Arts Biennial (Moscow, RU), European Performance Art Festival (Warsaw, PL), Instants Chavirés (Paris, FR), Ausland (Berlin, DE), Electronic Church (Berlin, DE), Bozar Electronic Arts Festival (Brussels, BE), interactive Media Art Laboratory (Brussels, BE) among many others.

 

www.yannickfranck.com
SOUNDS
Olli Aarni 28/9/2018
Native Instrument 28/9/2018
Lucie Vitkova @MAAC 8/9/2018


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
12/08/2013 - 07/09/2013
07/09/2013 - 20:30 - free entrance
22/05/2014 - 20:30 5€
Yannick Franck

© K. Dorion

Musicien, performeur et fondateur du label Idiosyncratics, Yannick Franck  développe un style de plus en plus personnel et difficilement classable. Sa musique; basée sur le traitement de sources telles que la voix, divers instruments et objets non musicaux, signaux radio et enregistrements de terrain; couvre un spectre allant de l'exploration acoustique fondamentale (The Staircase Continuum)  aux recherches plus proprement stylistiques / expressionnistes (Memorabilia), deux champs d'investigation qui ont tendance à se recouper dans ses œuvres récentes Hierophany (sortira sur Monochrome Vision) et The Utmost Night (sortira sur Taâlem Recordings). En addition de ces enregistrements et performances, Yannick Franck crée des installations sonores in situ.

 

Franck fait partie du groupe d'improvisation noise / électroacoustique Y.E.R.M.O., avec le guitariste Xavier Dubois et le batteur Jason Van Gulick. Ils collaborent régulièrement avec les plasticiens Gast Bouschet et Nadine Hilbert et ont développé avec eux un certain nombre de projets de natures différentes. Ils notamment ont créé les cinq bandes sonores de la très politique installationCollision Zone, qui était exposée dans le cadre du Pavillon du Luxembourg à la Biennale de Venise en 2009. Ils ont également réalisé ensemble une série de performances audiovisuelles très intenses, dont "The Shape Of Things To Come" et "Toward The Event Horizon".

 

Il a récemment initié le duo industriel-minimal ORPHAN SWORDS et le projet performatif RÄUM, un projet solo dédié à l'élaboration de formes performatives à caractère rituel, à travers l'utilisation détournée des technologies analogiques et digitales, de voix traitées électroniquement, de chant diphonique, de cris, de danse de murs de sons synthétiques et de rythmes corrosifs.

 

 

Franck a entre autre collaboré avec Pietro Riparbelli / K11, Craig Hilton (Gauchiste, Loincloth), Phil Maggi, Alan Trench (World Serpent, Temple Music, Orchis) et Esther Venrooy et sa musique est sortie sur des labels tels que Silken Tofu, Young Girls Records, Onement (label conceptuel du musicien Sylvain Chauveau) ou encore le label Italien Silentes.

 

Franck et Riparbelli, avec l'aide précieuse d'Alan Trench travaillent actuellement sur un album inspiré par le célèbre et excentrique occultiste anglais Aleister Crowley. L'album étant créé à partir d'enregistrements réalisés à l'Abbaye de Thelema à Cefalù, en Sicile.

 

Franck s'est produit dans de nombreux lieux et festivals dont Issue Project Room (New York), MUDAM & Philharmonie du Luxembourg (Luxembourg), Young Arts Biennial (Moscou), European Performance Art Festival (Varsovie), Instants chavirés (Paris), Ausland & Electronic Church (Berlin), interactive Media Art Laboratory (Brussels).

 

www.yannickfranck.com
SONS
Katharina Klement 30/8/19
Mariana Carvalho 30/8/19
Dejana Sekulic & Gilles Doneux 3/10/19


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be