nl fr en
Q-02 logo
workspace for experimental music and sound art
27/03/2014 - 06/04/2014
Christopher Williams

Christopher Williams is a wayfarer on the body-mind continuum. His medium is music.

 

Born in San Diego, he completed a B.A. at the University of California with Chaya Czernowin, Bertram Turetzky, Charles Curtis, and others. Since 2009 he has lived in Berlin and is pursuing a PhD at the University of Leiden with Richard Barrett and Marcel Cobussen.

 

As a contrabassist, Williams has improvised, interpreted, and danced throughout Europe and North America with musicians including Derek Bailey, Justin Bennett, Charles Curtis, LaMonte Young's Theatre of Eternal Music, Robin Hayward, Hans W. Koch, Maggie Nicols, and dancer Martin Sonderkamp; and with composers such as Chris Adler, Benjamin Carson, Charlie Morrow, Yoav Pasovsky, Benjamin Patterson, Ana-Maria Rodriguez, Marc Sabat, James Saunders, and Erik Ulman.

 

His compositions run the gamut from chamber music to radio art and collaborations with other improvisers. Performers include ensemble chronophonie, Patrick Crossland, Ferran Fages, Mary Oliver and Rozemarie Heggen, Barbara Held, trigger ensemble für aktuelle musik, NOISE Ensemble, and Sabine Vogel. His work with visual artist Tanja Smit has been shown at the Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), and his radio work has been broadcast on VPRO Radio 6 (Holland) and Deutschlandradio Kultur.

 

Williams' artistic research centers on improvisation, notation, and the feedback between thought, perception, and action in experimental music. He has published articles in Open Space Magazine, The Improvisor, and Critical Studies in Improvisation and presented at major universities and international conferences in North America, Europe, and India. He has received scholarships, grants, and prizes from the University of California, the Darmstadt Summer Courses, the Arts Council of Catalunya, Goethe Institut, Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin, and the Festival Acanthes.

 

As a curator, he organized over 70 concerts of contemporary and experimental music in Barcelona between 2003-2009 with Associació Musical l'Embut. He currently co-curates Certain Sundays, a monthly salon in Berlin, and participates in the Berlin Improvisation Research Group.

 

www.arcanum17.wordpress.com
SOUNDS
Jonathan Frigeri 24/10/2018
Klaas Hübner Smog 24/10/2018
Alice Pamuk @MAAC 8/9/2018


Q-O2 is supported by the Flemish Community, VGC and Creative Europe
Q-O2
Koolmijnenkaai 30-34
B-1080 Brussels
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be

nl fr en
Q-02 logo
laboratoire de musique expérimentale et d’art sonore
27/03/2014 - 06/04/2014
Christopher Williams

Christopher Williams est un errant dans le continuum corps-esprit. Son média est la musique.

 

Il est né à San Diego, il a obtenu un B.A. à la University of California en même temps que Chaya Czernowin, Bertram Turetzky, Charles Curtis, et d'autres encore. Depuis 2009 il vit à Berlin et il achève un doctorat à l'Université de Leiden avec Richard Barrett et Marcel Cobussen.

 

En tant que contrebassiste, Williams a improvisé, interprété et dansé dans toute l'Europe et en Amérique du Nord avec des musiciens tels que Derek Bailey, Justin Bennett, Charles Curtis, LaMonte Young's Theatre of Eternal Music, Robin Hayward, Hans W. Koch, Maggie Nicols, et le danseur Martin Sonderkamp ; mais aussi avec des compositeurs comme Chris Adler, Benjamin Carson, Charlie Morrow, Yoav Pasovsky, Benjamin Patterson, Ana-Maria Rodriguez, Marc Sabat, James Saunders et Erik Ulman.

 

Ses compositions couvrent toute la gamme allant de la musique de chambre à l'art radiophonique et aux collaborations avec d'autres improvisateurs. Parmi les interprètes, retenons l'ensemble Chronophonie, Patrick Crossland, Ferran Fages, Mary Oliver et Rozemarie Heggen, Barbara Held, le trigger ensemble für aktuelle musik, le NOISE Ensemble, et Sabine Vogel. Ses travaux avec l'artiste visuelle Tanja Smit ont été présentés au Musée de l'Art Contemporain de Barcelone (MACBA), et ses créations radiophoniques ont été diffusées sur VPRO Radio 6 (Pays-Bas) et sur Deutschlandradio Kultur.

 

La recherche artistique de Williams s'articule autour de l'improvisation, de la notation et du feed-back entre la pensée, la perception et l'action dans la musique expérimentale. Il a publié des articles dans Open Space Magazine, The Improvisor, et Critical Studies in Improvisation et a été l'invité des grandes universités et de conférences internationales en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Inde. Il a reçu des bourses d'étude, des subventions et des prix de la University of California, des Darmstadt Summer Courses, du Conseil pour les Arts de la Catalogne, de la Goethe Institut, du Fonds Hauptstadtkultur Berlin, et du Festival Acanthes.

 

En tant que curateur, il a organisé plus de 70 concerts de musique expérimentale à Barcelone entre  2003-2009 avec l'Associació Musical l'Embut. Il est actuellement co-curateur de Certain Sundays, un salon mensuel à Berlin, et il participe au Groupe de Recherche sur l'Improvisation de Berlin.

 

www.arcanum17.wordpress.com
SONS
Katharina Klement 30/8/19
Mariana Carvalho 30/8/19
Dejana Sekulic & Gilles Doneux 3/10/19


Q-O2 reçoit le soutien de la Communauté Flamande, VGC et Creative Europe
Q-O2
Quai des charbonnages 30-34
B-1080 Bruxelles
T: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
F: +32 (0)2 245 48 24
info@q-o2.be